Book Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

I am not going to lie- this book had been sitting on my shelf since it first came out. I only just decided to pick it up because I wasn’t feeling well and needed a contemporary novel to cheer me up.

I definitely don’t regret it. IMG_4209

This novel follows Andie (short for Alexandra) Walker who is the daughter of a very important congressman in the United States. Her father never seems to have enough time for her and she lost her mother years ago to ovarian cancer, which leaves Andie on her own. Well not exactly on her own, she has an amazing group of friends who support her through it all.

After a scandal behind her father’s name, her summer plans are ruined and the only job she could find in time is as a dog walker. She didn’t expect much from that job, especially not to meet a cute geek-looking guy who goes by the name of Clark. Yes, like superman. The thing is that Andie doesn’t date seriously.  They’re awkward together. They don’t know how to behave in each other’s company but it is adorable!

 


Pros: (Contains Spoilers)

ANDIE’S FRIEND GROUP. Palmer, Toby, and Bri were such different individuals, each of them with their own unique traits and personalities, but they understood each other so well and were so supportive of each other through everything. Their friendship with Andie reminded me of the friendship between Bridget, Lena, Tibby and Carmen in “The Sisterhood Of The Travelling Pants” and also kind of reminded me of my own friendship with my three best friends. I loved their little rituals and their hilarious texting conversations. They are so cute. What happened between Bri and Toby made me so sad, especially when Toby stopped hanging out with them but at least, it was realistic.

CLARK BRUCE MCCALLISTER. Clark although slightly older than Andie, was the epitome of a book boyfriend. He is a huge dork, but decently built, writes fantasy novels, loves big romantic gestures and is a bit socially awkward. He’s not described as a vision of physical perfection and also, although not having completed his education, is a young and acclaimed author. I absolutely loved his character! Also his bromance with Tom was another amazing part of the story. He’s probably one of the best love interests I have ever read about in a novel. 

THE FAMILY THEME. Her father suddenly becomes determined to make amends for his lack of presence around his daughter. I really enjoyed those scenes. Personally, I found their renewed connection extremely sweet and was glad for the added theme of family.

DOGS: Of course, dogs played an important part in this story since Andie is a dog walker for the summer. The cutie Great Pyrenees dog named Bertie stole the show for me. He is so cute and so full of life. I also really liked Maya (her boss).

 


Rating:

4.6/5


 

Through scandals, books, dogs, ice cream, scavenger hunts, friendships, and  love this book definitely takes you on a wonderful journey. It’s a smooth read and extremely enjoyable. I recommend you guys pick it up and try it! Then come back and comment what you thought! 


5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Leave a comment